Sat, 01 Jun | Secret Location

Playing with Matches - By Hannah Orenstein (1)

We are full! But you can always join us to discuss the book online.
Playing with Matches - By Hannah Orenstein (1)

Time & Location

01 Jun 2019, 18:00
Secret Location, London, UK

About the Event

ON WEDNESDAY'S WE READ PINK - The Book Club which chooses it books purely on the covers hue.

Join us for one, some or all.

____________________________________________________

About this week's book

In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.

Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family's darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City's elite at the dating service Bliss.

Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match.

Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control--and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He's strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off.

Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today's swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

Tickets
Price
Quantity
Total
  • Playing with Matches
    £0
    £0
    0
    £0
Total£0

Share This Event